Four new players in Canada squad for Auty Cup

Nitish Kumar to Lead Canada
October 11, 2016

Canada have named four uncapped players -  Bhavindu Adhihetty, Dilon Hyliger, Varun Sehdev and Shehan Kamileen in their fourteen man squad to take on the USA in the three match 50-overs Auty Cup Series to be played in Los Angeles on October 13, 14 and 16.

Opening batsman Adhihetty represented Canada at the U19 World Cup in Bangladesh recently. He recently played against Bermuda as a youngest member of the Canada Select team and performed well. Varun Sehdev also got the selectors attention with his performance against Bermuda. Heyliger is a good all-rounder while Kamileen is a solid top order batsman.

The team will be led by Nitish Kumar, the newly appointed captain and the youngest player ever to debut for Canada at both ODI and First Class levels. This will be his first tour as the captain of the Canadian team. Commenting on his new role as captain, Kumar said " I am really excited to captain the Canada national team".

The full squad reads: Nitish Kumar - Captain, Bhavindu Adhihetty, Satsimranjit Dhindsa, Nikhil Dutta, Varun Sehdev, Dilon Heyliger, Shehan Kamileen, Farhan Malik, Salman Nazar, Cecil Pervez, Parveen Saroye, Junaid Siddiqui, Hamza Tariq, and Srimantha Wijeyeratne, Davy Jacobs - Coach, Khurram Chohan - Selecor/Asst. Coach, Ingleton Liburd - Manager