Thu, 09/27/2012


The phony war is over. Finally the tournament proper can kick into top gear and the real business of becoming ICC World Twenty20 champions can begin in earnest.
Enough with the one sided blowouts. They hold little value for players or spectators.
Of course the minnows need to test themselves against better opposition in order to improve. But embarrassing losses serve only to perpetuate their status as ill prepared, under financed nations who lack the traditional infrastructure to develop.
Throwing them in at the deep end once every couple of years and expecting them to compete is completely unrealistic. Afghanistan and Ireland are serious about their cricket and are head and shoulders above the rest of the second tier countries - Canada included. However the gulf between the ICC's Full members and the Associates remains cavernous and it will take many more years before they can hold their own among cricket's elite.
Now we're down to the serious contenders - the eight teams who harbour genuine hopes of lifting the trophy in early October. There are no surprises - but we never expected any. Bangladesh acquitted themselves well against Pakistan but, in the final analysis, an eight wicket defeat is what it is. Zimbabwe, a test playing nation for twenty years, continues to struggle badly on the international stage.
Sat, 09/22/2012

South African and Sri Lanka look to finally be tested in the first match on Saturday at the World T20 as both teams come off easy wins against Zimbabwe. Also on Saturday, West Indies makes their tournament debut as they take on Australia. 

Sunday will see the most talked about opening round match as England take on India and Pakistan take on New Zealand. 

Four mammoth contests on the cards for this weekend. 


Fri, 09/21/2012


COLOMBO, Sri Lanka -- Luke Wright hammered an unbeaten 99 to steer defending champion England to a crushing 116-run win over Afghanistan in their World Twenty20 match on Friday.

England made a formidable 196 for five in its 20 overs after being sent in to bat, and then bowled out Afghanistan for 80 in the 18th over at R. Premadasa Stadium. Wright and Alex Hales joined in a 69-run stand, and Wright shared 72 runs with Eoin Morgan.

The game ended Afghanistan's short campaign in the tournament after losing to India by 23 runs in its first Group A match on Wednesday.

Wright said that England knew Afghans were a dangerous team after watching their spirited effort against India on television. But he added: "The way we came back and bowled them out was a superb effort."

Wright played down his disappointment at missing out on England's first Twenty20 century by a single run.


Fri, 09/21/2012

Abbotsford Cricket Club and PakCan Cricket Club do battle in the BCMCL Finals on Saturday. A live stream is available on 

In Toronto, the TDCA semi-finals and finals with Centurions, TCSCC, Vikings and Brampton Masters vying for positions in Sunday's final. 


Thu, 09/20/2012


HAMBANTOTA, Sri Lanka -- Jacques Kallis produced the best bowling performance by a South African in the 20-over format with 4-15 as the Proteas hammered Zimbabwe by 10 wickets in the World Twenty20 on Thursday.

The latest defeat eliminated Zimbabwe from the tournament, after it lost the team's first match in Group C by 82 runs against Sri Lanka.

Kallis led the seam attack as Zimbabwe was restricted to 93-8 and South Africa openers Richard Levi (50) and Hashim Amla (32) eased to 94-0 in only 12.4 overs at the Mahinda Rajapaksa International Cricket Stadium.

South Africa will meet Sri Lanka in the last Group C match on Saturday with both teams already qualified for the Super Eights.

Levis and Amla were untroubled by the Zimbabwean bowlers. Levi hit six fours off 43 balls while Amla rotated the strike well, facing 33 balls and hitting three boundaries.

"(I'm) very happy with the start. I back our pace bowlers to do well on this kind of deck. Hopefully it's the same for the next game," South African captain AB de Villiers said.



Wed, 09/19/2012


COLOMBO, Sri Lanka -- Virat Kohli scored a half-century while Lakshmipathy Balaji and Yuvraj Singh combined for six wickets to propel India to a 23-run win against Afghanistan at the World Twenty20 on Wednesday.
The lowly ranked Afghans, who reached the tournament through qualifying, put up a challenge in patches against one of the favourites to win the trophy. However, their inexperience meant they couldn't sustain the pressure in the Group A match.
Afghanistan captain Nawroz Mangal won the toss and sent in India, which made 159-5 in 20 overs. Kohli hit two sixes and four boundaries for 50 off 39 balls. He shared a 46-run stand with Suresh Raina after the Afghans had reduced India to 68-3.
In reply, Afghanistan was bowled out for 136 runs in the final over. Mohammad Nabi top-scored with 31. Balaji claimed 3-19 while Yuvraj took 3-24.


Tue, 09/18/2012


HAMBANTOTA, Sri Lanka -- Finger spinner Ajantha Mendis broke his own record for the best bowling figures in cricket's shortest format Tuesday, taking 6-8 to lead Sri Lanka to an 82-run win over Zimbabwe in the World Twenty20 opening match.

Mendis surpassed his previous mark of 6-16 against Australia last year with his miserly four-over spell, helping bowl out Zimbabwe for 100 in 17.3 overs after Sri Lanka had totalled 182-4.

The performance by Mendis was particularly remarkable for being his first international after an eight-month layoff because of a back injury.

Namesake Jeevan Mendis claimed 3-24 to add to his 43 not out. Kumar Sangakkara top-scored for Sri Lanka with 44 while Tillakaratne Dilshan hit 39.


Mon, 09/17/2012

After years of waiting, Canadian cricket supporters can finally watch a world cup on mainstream television. Cricket Canada has partnered with Rogers Sportsnet to bring fans the 2012 T20 Cricket World Cup from Sri Lanka. 

Beginning Tuesday, every match will be shown live on the Sportsnet Network, as well Cricket Central will provide insight and analysis during the tournament as well as highlighting Cricket Canada and its impact across the country. 


Thu, 09/06/2012


After a hard fought and a very competitive group stage matches we have come to the business end of the Tournament – the playoffs.
Semi Final 1(9am-12pm EST): University of Ontario Information & Technology vs University of Toronto (Scarborough)
Semi Final 2 (12.15pm-3.15pm EST): Ryerson University v University of Waterloo
Winner will move on to play the finals at 3.30 PM
All playoff games are going to be played atMaple Leafs Cricket Ground at King City, ON
Catch it all live at Sorkkam TV
Follow the Live scores at
Standing of the Group stages can be found at
Sun, 09/02/2012


Nova Scotia has won the Maritime 40 over championship defeating New Brunswick handily in Halifax on Saturday. Batting first, the hosts were led by skipper Hari Raghuraman (84) and Tyson Joyce (72*) setting New Brunswick 300 to win. New Brunswick were led by Aditya Aggarwal (13) but had no match for Amit Joshi (4-27) as they were bundled out for 84. 
NS 299/4 (40.0 overs): Harikrishnan Raghuraman 84, Tyson Joyce 72*, Shiv Sadhu 50, Akram Khan 2/41, Dunu Eliaba 1/29
NB 84 all out (26.4 overs): Aditya Aggarwal 13, Naveed Javed 12*, Amit Joshi 4/27, Shreyas Dhond 2/11
Result: Nova Scotia won by 215 runs
Man of the Match: Harikrishnan Raghuraman