Wed, 02/19/2014

Half centuries from Nikhil Dutta and Nitish Kumar were not enough to chase down West Indies. Canada move on to the plate round



Sun, 02/16/2014

Faseen Valli became the first batsman in the tournament to score a century and take four wickets in the same match as South Africa overcame a spirited challenge from Canada to win its Group C clash of the ICC Under-19 World Cup by 45 runs at the Abu Dhabi Oval 1.

On Sunday (February 16), Valli’s all-round show ensured South Africa registered its second consecutive win of the tournament to put itself on top of the Group C standings. He scored an unbeaten 102 from 92 balls, with 10 fours and two sixes, and featured in a 102-run fifth-wicket partnership with Bradley Dial (47) as South Africa posted 293 for 6 after being sent into bat.

It was an uphill task, but Canada put up a valiant fight. Sudeepta Aurka, the opener, made a solid 69 and was well assisted by Nitish Kumar (53), the captain. The duo’s stand of 101 for the second wicket ensured Canada needed just a little over seven an over for the last 18 overs, but a middle order collapse put paid to its hopes.

Valli’s offspin proved tough for Canada to negotiate as he returned figures of 4 for 43 in his ten overs. Canada’s innings ended at 248 for 8 in 50 overs, with Sibonela Makhanya, the medium pacer, picking up three wickets. 

Valli is now the leading run-getter and wicket-taker in the tournament with 155 runs and six wickets respectively. 

Canada now take on West Indies on Tuesday at the Sheikh Zayed Stadium Nursery 1 in Abu Dhabi while South Africa will face Zimbabwe on the same day.



Fri, 02/14/2014
Canada 192-9, 50 overs (Nikhil Dutta 56, Nitish Kumar 36, Armaan Kapoor 28, Keenan Tinto 21; Tinashe Kamunhukamwe 3-17, Herbert Chikomba 2-21)
Zimbabwe 195-4, 43.5 overs (Joylord Gumbie 49, Charles Kunje 42 not out, Tarisai Musakanda 33, Luke Jongwe  25 not out, Tinashe Kamunhukamwe 24)
Man of the match - Tinashe Kamunhukamwe (Zimbabwe)


Tue, 02/11/2014

CANADA takes on PNG in the second and final warm up match




Sun, 02/09/2014

Canada lost by 5 wickets in a low scoring match against the Kiwi's in their first warm-up match



Thu, 02/06/2014

Canada has departed for the 2014 under 19 Cricket World Cup in Dubai. The team led by Nitish Kumar will play in Group D with Zimbabwe, South Africa and West Indies. Canada beat Zimbabwe in their last appearance in the u19 World Cup on the way to their best ever finish at the tournament.

Nitish Kumar – Captain (Ontario)

Arman Kapoor – Vice Captain (Ontario)


Sudeepta Aurka (Alberta)

Nikhil Dutta (Ontario)

Amanpal Gillar (British Columbia)

Stephan Joseph (Ontario)

Anikit Joshi (Ontario)

Abraash Khan (Ontario)

Farhan Malik (Alberta)

Trevor Manoosingh (Manitoba)

Stephan Rajasingham (Ontario)

Yug Rao (Ontario)

Vasu Shah (Manitoba)

Talha Sheikh (Ontario)

Keenen Tinto (Ontario)


Ingleton Liburd - Head Coach

Sanjay Thuriasingam - Assistant Coach

Scott Stranger - Physiotherapy

Keith Deonaraine - Match Analyst

Wijay Senithirajah - Manager


Cricket Canada Vice President Amit Joshi was pleased with the team's preparation and wished them well as they left.

"U19 Cricket World Cup in Dubai is a wonderful opportunity for our promising young players ,who are best in Canada ,to compete against the top cricketing countries in the World. We are lucky to have such vast talent within the country but the credit must go to these players, parents, and their coaches for all the efforts and practice that the players have gone through

Our junior program development initiatives included a summer camp, NCL participation and Canada Cup in the last two years and these events have been a huge bonus especially helping national selectors pick the best players from all over Canada. We have been also successful in finding ways to expose a good portion of these junior players to top level competition in other countries where cricket is played year around. Two players who were part of the senior team have just returned from New Zealand and we are positive that experience has helped them gain momentum and perform at the top level."



Wed, 02/05/2014

Niagara based Computan has reaffirmed their continuing support of Canadian cricket by stepping forward and adopting a player as part of the Adopt-a- Player program for Canada's U19 team. The program sees Canadian companies support the U19 team by sponsoring a player in the tournament.

Computan has selected Nikhil Dutta as their sponsored player for the tour.

Cricket Canada thanks Tan Qureshi and his team for their ongoing support.

Mon, 02/03/2014

Winnipeg's Vasu Shah has been added to Canada's u19 World Cup squad replacing British Columbia's Gurk Dhillon. Dhillon suffered a back injury and is unable to travel to UAE. Shah was Canada's u18 wicket keeper in the World Cup Qualiifier held in Toronto in 2013.

Mon, 01/20/2014

Canada and Nepal clash at the 2014 Cricket World Cup Qualifier



Thu, 01/16/2014

Canada looks for a measure of revenge after a shock loss 2 months ago in Dubai. Hong Kong proved their mettle qualifying for the World Twenty20, it promises to be a thrilling contest in New Zealand.